Introduction of the University

Last Updated: October 31, 2018

Regular Publications


Introduction of the University

Four Decades in the Service of Farming Community of Himachal Pradesh

Himachal Pradesh Krishi Vishvavidyalaya (renamed as  Chaudhary Sarwan Kumar Himachal Pradesh Krishi Vishvavidyalaya in June,2001) was established on 1st November, 1978.The College of Agriculture (established in May, 1966) formed the nucleus of the new farm University. It is ICAR accredited and ISO 9001:2015 certified institution.

The University has been given the mandate for making provision for imparting education in agriculture and other allied branches of learning, furthering the advancement of learning and prosecution of research and undertaking extension of such sciences, especially to the rural people of Himachal Pradesh.

Over the years, this University has contributed significantly in transforming the farm scenario of Himachal Pradesh. Today, the State has earned its name for hill agricultural diversification and the farming community has imposed its faith in the University.

Academic Programmes

The University has four constituent colleges. The College of Agriculture has 13 departments, Dr.G.C.Negi College of Veterinary & Animal Sciences has 18 departments, the College of Home Science has five departments and the College of Basic Sciences has four departments. These colleges offer six Bachelor Degree programmes and the Dean, Post Graduate Studies offers 23 Masters Degree and 15 Doctoral Degree programmes.

At present 1584 students (876 girls & 708 boys) are on roll and 6872 students have passed out from the University since its inception.In addition to world class academic, sports and co-curricular facilities, there are twelve students’ hostels, including one International Students’ Hostel.

Research Activities

The Directorate of Research coordinates research in the field of agriculture, veterinary and animal sciences, home science and basic sciences. It has been giving priority to the location specific, need based and problem oriented research with multidisciplinary approach at main campus Palampur, 3 Regional Research Stations (Bajaura, Dhaulakuan &  Kukumseri) and 10 Research Sub-stations (Kangra, Malan, Nagrota, Salooni, Akrot, Berthin  Sundernagar, Sangla, Leo & Lari) situated  in all the districts of the State (except Solan and Shimla).

The University has developed need-based technologies  for the different regions of the State and has released 155 improved varieties of different crops. Around 800 quintal breeder seed and around  1000 quintal foundation  seed of cereals, pulses, oilseeds, vegetable and fodder crops is produced and supplied to the State Department of Agriculture for further multiplication and making it available to  the farming community. Around 100 farm technologies have been recommended to the farmers.To enhance crop and animal productivity, the University has developed appropriate technologies in the areas of crop improvement, animal breeding, disease combating, natural resources management, etc. Besides continuing  research on organic farming in hill agriculture, the University has taken initiative on ‘zero budget natural farming’ so as to  transform Himachal Pradesh as organic State of the country. Recenlty,  twenty farm based models have been formulated and shared with the agriculture and animal husbandry departments of the State government and efforts have been made to educate and motivate the farmers to adopt the models as per the agro-climatic conditions of their area and their requirements.

Extension Education

The Directorate of Extension Education shares the responsibility for planning, implementation and coordination of various extension education programmes of all the departments of four constituent colleges and research stations in close collaboration with the State Departments of Agriculture, Animal Husbandry, Fisheries and other concerned departments and institutions. It conducts a large number of trainings for farmers, livestock keepers, farm ladies, rural youth, etc. at main campus and at its eight Krishi Vigyan Kendras (Farm Science Centres) at Bajaura, Dhaulakuan, Hamirpur, Una, Mandi, Kangra, Berthin and Kukumseri. Natural Farming activities are being undertaken by all Krishi Vigyan Kendras(KVKs) and KVKs have adopted one village each for Natural Farming.The Directorate has also initiated process for the establishment of District Agromet Units with automatic weather stations at KVKs at Dhaulakuan, Berthin and Mandi.The Agricultural Technology Information Center is serving as a single window service to the farmers.

The Media Cell projects and protects the image of the University among target clients and others by various Public Relations and Communication tools.

A massive infrastructure to fulfill the mandate and realize objectives has been created at main campus Palampur, all Research Stations and Krishi Vigyan Kendras.The main clients viz. the farmers and the students are provided quality facilities in the form of training hall, farmers’ hostels, transportation, students’ hostels, play ground  &  gymnasium, placement cell, etc.

Among the leading universities in the hill regions of the country, this University has emerged as torch bearer for all. It is considered most peaceful institution in the region  with very conducive atmosphere to puruse  academic  and research activities.

Due to the sincere and arduous work during the past forty  years in the University, the State has achieved new stature  in the area of agriculture.Despite constant decrease in area under farming, crop yields have increased. The State has earned name in commercial agriculture, especially off-season vegetable cultivation. Harvests have become plentiful and the socio-economic status  of the farming community has improved significantly.

Vital Statistics*

Academic programmes

Bachelor degree programmes   = 6

Masters Degree programmes    = 23 (11 Vety.& AH, 9 Agri., 1 H.Sc. & 2 Basic Science)

Doctoral degree programmes    = 15 (8 Agri., 6 Vety. & AH and 1 H.Sc.)

Varieties Released by the University

The University has released 155 improved varieties of different crops (Wheat 24, Paddy 23, Maize 9, Barley 6, Pulses 24, Vegetables 29, Oilseeds 23, Buckwheat 2, Sugarcane 1, Fodder 12 and Tea 2).

Staff Strength

Teachers/Scientists=235, Non-teachers= 1024 (including 557 class IV and excluding 229 employees on secondment with State Govt.) 


Total Area at main campus : 397 hectares, Area at Out stations/KVKs:  190 ha

* As on 31 Oct 2018

Important Telephone Numbers/Emails

Sr. No.



Contact No.

(Std. code-01894)




Vice - Chancellor










Director Extension Education





Director of Research





Jt. Director (Info. & Public Relations)





Incharge Hospitality






Agricultural Technology Information Centre





University Website:  

Conceptualized, compiled  and edited by Dr.Hirday Paul Singh, Joint Director (Information & Public Relations),  for and on behalf of CSK Himachal Pradesh Agriculture University, Palampur 176062 INDIA



Designed & developed by: UNS Web Team, CSK HPKV, Palampur